Significance of Zakat (Charity) during Ramadan


Significance of Zakat (Charity) during Ramadan


Zakat is one of the five basic pillars of Islam. That is to say, it is obligatory on every Muslim that they give Zakat from the wealth that Allah has bestowed them with. Certainly we agree that all things belong to Allah. In other words, all the blessings that we receive are purely and solely from Allah. Therefore it is essential that we set aside a portion of the wealth, that Allah has given us, for His people.


Why give Zakat?


By giving Zakat, we are helping the poor and needy. Moreover, Zakat, increases the wealth of the person and purifies their heart. That is to say, when the person gives some amount of their wealth to the needy, their love for wealth and greed subsides. In the same vein, it also removes malice and envy for the receiver’s heart because they are not deprived. Further, it increases feelings of love and gratitude among humans and that is what Allah loves.

The believing men and believing women are allies of one another. They enjoin what is right and forbid what is wrong and establish prayer and give zakah and obey Allah and His Messenger. Those – Allah will have mercy upon them. Indeed, Allah is Exalted in Might and Wise.” 9:71


The Distribution of Zakat


The distribution of Zakat should be amongst eight categories of people. Allah has clearly stated in the Quran:

“Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakah] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah . And Allah is Knowing and Wise.” (9:60)

So, Quran has specifically described who to pay the Zak’at to. However there is flexibility on the amount that people decide for payment. As a result, the right of the needy and the helpful is guaranteed. Moreover, Zakat can also be distributed to charitable organizations that help distribute the money in the needy and the helpful. So for your help and to clarify the verse mentioned above, below are the 8 categories of people that are rightful of receiving the Zakat.

1.       Poor; those who do not have enough means to earn

2.       Needy; the one who is in need and in a difficult and adverse condition

3.       Zakat organizations that collect Zakat and distribute it to the deserved

4.       Those who are new converts and those who are close to the Muslims

5.       Slaves and captives to free them

6.       Those who have to pay the debt and cannot do so

7.       In Allah’s cause which can include several reasons to give

8.       Traveler; who does not have enough resources

To conclude, Zak’at is not the only way through which Muslims can give Zakat. However, it is one of the basic pillars of Islam. Hence, Allah has made it obligatory. Further it is through Zakat that humans help others and uplift the lives of others by distributing money. Certainly, Zakat has the ability to change the world and bring equality among humans.

In order to know more about Zakat and what Quran says about it, join the QuraOnline course to understand Quran in detail. Learn Quran with Translation and Quran with Tafseer. Further, it is not just Zakat that you shall learn about. In fact you can also learn about everything that Allah talks about in the Quran in detail. Our expert Islamic scholars and tutors are well trained and expert in their fields. So choose the course of your choice as it is for all ages.